About 9/11

Dear George,

On the night of September 10th, 2001 I fell asleep listening to Art Bell on 570 KLIF.  I was in the midst of five months of unemployment after the dotcom bubble wreaked havoc on the tech sector.  It was hard for me to sleep at this time in my life so I made a habit of falling asleep to soothing voices from the radio every night.

The next morning the auditory stimuli of the dramatic morning news caused a dream of planes crashing into the World Trade Center.  I would have been relieved to have awoken from this nightmare, but unfortunately my sleeping mind was mirroring the actual events of that morning.

My wife had returned from dropping the kids off at school and roused me to the news.  We turned on the television in time to see both towers burning like twin smokestacks, a horrifying sight.  We sat silent and in shock as we heard of the Pentagon being hit and the plane in Shanksville, PA going down.  We watched in disbelief as the mighty twin towers collapsed in on themselves.

When my wife exclaimed, “Can’t anyone stop them?”  I reflected on the dream I was having and realized that this was a nightmare I would never wake up from.

We live in the flight path of DFW Airport.  I will never forget the deafening silence from the skies as you had ordered all U.S. air travel to be grounded for the next three days.

Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that I appreciated your leadership during those stressful days.

Regards,

Eric

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

